Our Philosophy

The Biodynamics

Biodynamics might be compared to the conductor of an orchestra.. This sets the tone, pulse, the harmony between soil, plants and humans. It works perfectly together in the same sense as nature. Biodynamics is the essence of the earth. Through its principles we have learned to adapt to the plant, soil and climate. We observe the soil and the plant for better intervention.

Thanks to the influence of the sun, moon and constellations on the 4 traditional elements water, fire, air and earth, everything is in harmony. Each of our biodynamic interventions is an encouragement; to root, leaf, flower or fruit. We supply preparations of the following origins:
Animal: compost manure and horn dung
Plant: nettle, valerian, chamomile, dandelion, oak bark, yarrow leaf
Minerals: silica
In homeopathic doses, mixed with water and activated, these preparations are sprayed on the vineyard. By vibration due to the activation, the water with which the preparations are mixed becomes infused with their qualities. We work with the lunar calendar that gives us the necessary information for the appropriate times to intervene. We also adapt certain work to the lunar calendar, such as pruning, bottling and all interventions in the wine and the harvest.

Ecocert

Since 1996 we cultivate the vines according to the charter of organic farming. We applied for certification in 2000. So each year our crop is Ecocert certified. We have regular checks to verify the use of treatment products, book-keeping and the condition of the vineyards.

Download our Ecocert agrement

The Hens

We are never short of ideas, after «the biodynamic attitude «we adopt the » hens attitude». The idea of taking our livestock into the vineyards and reintroducing (on a small scale. I admit) animal «scratchers» in nature, we are investing in the acquisition of some gallinaceous stock. At the same time Eric is converting an old trailer to a split-level house for these females. Thus our hen-house crosses the village to the vines under the questioning eyes of the Monthélians. These round trips are short and our scratchers, used to Château life, spend more time searching for larvae and earthworms in the park than in the vineyards. But nothing is settled, they may soon be taking the path to the vineyard again for some holidays.

Notre Philosophie

La Biodynamie

La biodynamie pourrait se comparer à un chef d’orchestre. C’est elle qui donne le ton, l’impulsion, l’harmonie entre le sol, la plante et l’homme. Elle agit en parfaite concertation dans le sens même de la nature.La biodynamie est l’essence de la terre. De par ses principes nous avons appris à nous adapter à la plante, au terroir, au climat. Nous observons le sol et la plante pour mieux agir.

Grâce à l’influence du soleil, de la lune et des constellations sur les 4 éléments traditionnels, eau, feu, air et terre tout devient harmonie. Chacune de nos interventions biodynamiques favorise, la racine, la feuille, la fleur ou le fruit. Nous apportons des préparats de différentes origines :
Animales : compost de bouse et bouse de corne,
Végétales : ortie, valériane, camomille, pissenlit, écorce de chêne, achillée mille feuille,
Minérales : silice
Par dose homéopathique, mélangée avec de l’eau et dynamisée, ces préparats seront ensuite vaporisés dans la vigne. Par les vibrations dues à la dynamisation, l’eau à laquelle les préparats sont mélangés s’imprègne de leurs qualités. Nous travaillons avec le calendrier lunaire qui nous donne les éléments nécessaires quant aux moments propices pour intervenir. Nous adaptons également certains travaux au calendrier lunaire tels que la taille, les mises en bouteilles ou toutes interventions sur le vin, les vendanges.

Ecocert

Depuis 1996 nous cultivons la vigne selon la charte de l’agriculture biologique. Mais nous avons demandé la certification en 2000.
Ainsi chaque année notre récolte est agréée Ecocert.Nous avons des contrôles régulièrement pour vérifier l’utilisation des produits de traitement, la comptabilité et l’état des vignes.

Télécharger notre agrément Ecocert

Les Poules

Nous ne sommes jamais à cour d’idée, après la « biodynamique attitude » nous adoptons la « poule attitude». Dans l’idée d’emmener notre cheptel dans les vignes et de réintroduire (à petite échelle je l’avoue) des animaux « gratteurs » dans la nature, nous investissons dans l’acquisition de quelques gallinacés. En même temps Eric confectionne sur une vieille remorque une maison duplex pour ces demoiselles. C’est ainsi que notre poulailler traverse le village pour les vignes sous les yeux interrogateurs des Monthéliens. Ces allers et retours sont de courte durée et nos gratteuses accoutumées à la vie de Château, passent plus de temps à traquer larves et vers de terre dans le parc que dans les vignes. Mais rien n’est joué, elles pourraient prochainement reprendre le chemin du vignoble pour quelques vacances.